Mock Election Google Slides and the Makey Makey Kit

Mock Election Google Slides and the Makey Makey Kit

My Maker infused lesson plan takes me back to when I had to repurpose or thrift with my Makey Makey kit. I am going to have my students learn from my experience and create their own button. Students are going to be creating their own button to work with the space function. This will allow my students to give their presentations about their specific Mock Election topic and they will not have to walk around my desk to change the slide.

Before students get to actually make their button and see if it works with the Makey Makey kit, they are going to have to complete their research within their groups on one of the Mock Election topics. The directions to this assignment can be found here. After students have finished their research on their assigned topic then they will make a Google Slide Deck. Once the group has finished their Google Slide Deck, one person will upload it to Google Classroom.

When all groups have turned in their Google Slide Decks then the class will be introduced to the Makey Makey kit. The students will be shown how the Makey Makey kit works and what is expected of them in making their prototypes.

Below is a video I have made for my students to get them started on prototyping for their button.

A detailed lesson plan for the Mock Election Google Slide Deck and how to introduce the Makey Makey kit and have your students’ prototype can be found here.

Leave a comment